Belgian Postcards

Previous | Belgian Postcards Index | Next

English Convent - Our Lady of Nazareth

Nice church, now a non-municipal museum.

In the 17th century, Brugge became a home for the banished nuns of England. Supported by the Portuguese wife of Charles II, Catherine of Braganza in the 1660s. The domed church was built from 1736-1739.. The church boasts an exquisite interior, the marble altar is a rare piece of art. It is known to be the place of death of the famous poet-priest Guido Gezelle, and it is the only domed church located in the medieval part of the Brugge. It was renovated in 1739. It is an active convent today.

first posted 9/26/2010

click here for reverse